Sharing Laughter and Stories over a Cup of Hot Tea

Nekbakht Mubarak
Inspiring Minds
Published in
4 min readFeb 21, 2024

Ummmm! That’s what I call life!

I am immersed in a loving childhood memory. What good old days those were!

I remember a happy gathering where I always sat near my grandmother. I loved to call her Nano. She would keep sipping the yummy ginger tea. We would gather to listen to her old, mysterious and traditional folklore.

Her stories got me so mesmerized that I would just start my version of the story while listening to her enchanted tales.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Then I would enjoy a sip of tea from my favourite mug. I was also intrigued to ask, Nano, why did the king make the princess leave the palace? Why was he so cruel? When did your mama tell you about the mighty palace? And the questions went on and on.

My loving Nano would turn to me now and then to satisfy my quest and to give me a short and sweet answer, not to disturb the flow of the story.

I wished to pour her and me another cup of hot tea with my little hands. Taking tea was an integral part of enjoying the bedtime stories of Nano Goushal. I eagerly waited for the night and the arrival of Nano on weekends. I made the cushions set properly, although I was one of the children who would mess up with them for my game.

I made sure. I sat next to Nano all the time. I especially did not want Nano to hold little Natasha in her lap. I wished to keep my Nano all to myself, just to stare at me all the time.

Photo by Alyssa Stevenson on Unsplash

I was a happy child. I loved Nano so much. She knew my longing for her and her enchanted stories. She made such loving expressions for other children to make them happy too.

We were also delighted about that gathering for many reasons. Particularly, we loved Nano giving us titles like Sher Khan to Sakhi (my cousin_ the naughtiest), My Angel to Solomon (my brother), and The Little Swan to Natasha (my aunt’s only daughter). Most of all, I loved her calling me The Happy Princess.

Photo by Edward Cisneros on Unsplash

All of us, happy to get our enchanted names, were almost ready to stand up in anticipation of her next instruction. Nano was kind and gentle. She touched my head over and over, crossing her gentle hand through my curly hair. I felt so happy and peaceful. For me, she was a majestic queen, and we were princes and princesses in my wildest imagination.

Photo by Raychan on Unsplash

I could not bear how the minutes turned into hours to wind up the magical night. And Nano would gently lift me from her side, saying, ‘Mama would be so happy to see you sleeping on time!’ I was so deep in the story, but yawning as well. I had to really struggle to leave that soft spot. I wished Nano would ask me to stay with her for that night. I always looked at her to receive all the love and gentleness in the world.

Photo by Kune Chan on Unsplash

I don’t know when we grew older and older. And Nano became weaker and weaker to even talk smoothly. She could hardly speak fluently with the same melodious tone.

Then, one day, I had to feel the pain of leaving behind that soft spot, which Nano always preserved for me. I could not hold that pain in my chest and cried and cried and cried.

I could not bear not having Nano there to tell me enchanting stories, to keep me joyful, and to give me that princely feeling.

Photo by 戸山 神奈 on Unsplash

And then we grew up. All that happiness and dream-like innocence left us behind. Time moved us to a new life of adolescence and youth, to see the days and the nights very different and very unique.

The time suddenly became so scarcely available! It became so fast to let us stop by Nano’s cushion to feel her gentle love and warmth for some moments.

--

--

Nekbakht Mubarak
Inspiring Minds

Passionate about writing, I explore sports, travel, food, yoga, devotional literature, mental & emotional health, self-improvement, spirituality & more...