Why you must keep things simple

Luqman Khan
Inspiring Minds
Published in
3 min readMay 29, 2024
Photo by arnaud girault on Unsplash

I guess I’ll start with a story of my own.

When I began to change my life I did drastic things, and it worked out, kind of. From phone 24\7 to not at all, to nothing, only writing. Massive changes, yet it worked out, but there was one issue.

I feel this issue isn’t just a me thing but everyone has one in different forms; a singular habit that pulls you back into your old ways, it’s not that you want to use your phone and you actually don’t feel like using it.

But maybe a habit of checking your friends on social media then leads you to go on a phone spree, it isn’t that you want to use it, but it comes as a byproduct of that habit.

Photo by clement proust on Unsplash

Upon many years of trying to become better everything I did or tried to do feels so contradictory.

I try to stop playing games sure it gave me more time to do things I care about but for example, stop playing Minecraft actually parted my family apart. Minecraft really helped bring my family/community together.

And other things.

Photo by Sebastian Knoll on Unsplash

All I want people to take from this. Take things slow, no matter where you are don’t think my life is rubbish and purposeless even the most deepest of pits have some sort of beauty and the most sunniest of places have their woes.

No matter where you are appreciate where you are, where you have been, and where you will go. Take it slow, and realize that I’m not changing to become better I’m changing into something I prefer slightly more.

Take slow gradual steps, no. Don’t fall into the trap I have, in trying to change your life overnight. ONLY ONE, this is a strict rule.

Enforce this rule, Only One, thing a day, not 2, not 3. Don’t fall in the trap, adding more subconsciously makes you like the life you have right now less, it will grow sorrow and sadness everyday. And to escape you won’t even complete one thing.

Just one step a day. That’s it.

Photo by John Zhou on Unsplash

--

--

Luqman Khan
Inspiring Minds

I am on the ship of life sailing in an ocean of the unknown. I too do not know much, often times the journey ahead is unclear, so, I shall offer the moonlight.