Kill and Move On

Josephat Shikuku
Dark Psychoanalysis
3 min readAug 17, 2021

Take a moment to imagine what the world would be like without women. Without women, life can hardly be complete. In some cases, they taught me how to kill but denied me permission to end lives.

Talk about childhood games and schooling without girls, male teachers with no female ones, places of entertainment, and work without mentioning women. In other words, living without a woman around us sounds awful, like eating honey but not swallowing it; you spit it out.Yes, women taught me how to kill.

Yes, women taught me how to kill.

Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

They made me realize that making the right decisions required killing blurred visions and relationships as well as distorted ideals.

Kuingiza mtu boksi’ is translated; to put someone in the box. It is a Swahili expression that means to successfully persuade a girl to be your girlfriend. During my 20s, I already put many in the box, but there was one that I promised to talk about.

I will never forget three women, and I had to say goodbye to one. The first is my mother, who handled the school fees more than my father. The second lady is the mother of my ex-girlfriend, who arrested me even though she knew that I was her daughter’s fiancé. The third one is Sophia, my wife and the mother of my children. I am so sorry Aishah, Sophia took your place.

I grew into a better person as a result of my experience with these four ladies. I’m now a man who knows how to solve a problem by making the right decisions.
If you have not been through any tough time, then you probably have not lived. It reaches a point in life where you have to choose a path that will hurt someone for your good. In other words, you kill someone, you sabotage your trust, and you genuinely do not care if it will be the end of your relationship.

Photo by Gianfranco Grenar on Unsplash

Me and Aishah, my girlfriend, were both arrested. She had visited me during the holidays. The defilement case was filed against me since Aishah was a university student. I was a primary school teacher.
What hurt me most was, Aishah’s parents were aware of our courtship for two years then. Moreover, we were neighbors for more than four years in a rental estate. Our families became close friends, and we helped one another. The story made me feel visionless, dead. I missed seeing the importance of relationships. I felt like no one is honest.

I felt betrayed despite Aishah being by my side and defending me. Sometimes I felt like it was a conspiracy of the Aishah family so that we would not marry, or is it because they were Muslims, but I, a Christian? Perhaps we had killed the ideals of our beliefs. I did not know, but one thing I was sure of, Aishah and I were in love and hoped we would get married.

Thanks to God, I didn’t spend any time in prison, even though I incurred a fine. And that was when our love began to fade slowly like the morning fog. Since then, I have realized that what others want you to see can prevent you from discovering many things.

--

--

Josephat Shikuku
Dark Psychoanalysis

Shikuku is a freelance writer, EC teacher, a poet, musician... He believes that readers deserve to access the right information.