Is the CISSP Certification Worth It?

Reflecting on the CISSP exam and the excitement two years later when I officially became certified.

Katlyn Gallo
Dark Roast Security
8 min readSep 15, 2021

--

Photo by Steven Lasry on Unsplash

I took the CISSP exam back in November of 2019, so you can say it’s been quite a long journey. When I first passed the exam, I knew I was going to have to wait at least a year and a half before I could apply for endorsement and receive the certification.

Back then I dreaded the wait, but as people always said when I was growing up, the older you get, the faster time goes by. Now, almost two years later, it’s crazy to even think that much time has passed, but I have proof that it has, or else I wouldn’t be certified!

I wrote a bit about my CISSP journey when I first started my blog last year, so if you’re looking for some study tips and the resources I used, you can check the article out here.

Today, I’m going to be more focused on the question so many people ask: Is it worth it?

As with most certifications, it really depends. It depends on your career path and future goals. For the majority of security professionals, it’s going to be valuable in some way, shape, or form, but there might also be other certifications that hold more value as it relates to your career trajectory.

--

--

Katlyn Gallo
Dark Roast Security

Coffee lover, bookworm, and InfoSec enthusiast | Find me on Twitter & Instagram: @ktgblogstech