Poetry

Teach Me How To Live

Give Me The Tools I Need

P.G. Barnett
Dark Sides of the Truth
2 min readMay 13, 2020

--

Teach me to see
Because my sight I have lost,
Guide my fingers over Braille,
Help me learn to be free.

Teach me to hear
For my ears have gone deaf,
Help me move through the silence,
Be aware without fear.

Help me to speak,
Though my tongue it lays still,
Help my hands form the words,
It is all that I seek.

Give me a tool
So I will live again,
I have lost all I am,
I’m a bumbling old fool.

Help me to live,
Without sight, sound or voice,
I know I must do it,
I pray you forgive.

I’ve spent my whole life
Taking these things for granted,
And now that they’re gone,
I must deal with the strife.

Teach me please teach me
I know I must learn,
How to live a full life,
Using all these new tools,
Though there’s no guarantee.

--

--

P.G. Barnett
Dark Sides of the Truth

A published author enjoying married Texas bliss. Dog person living with cats. A writer of Henry James' stories. Featured In MuckRack. Top Writer In Fiction.