Scyana

Creations
Worlds Around Us
Published in
4 min readJul 2, 2014

Rising to face the crowd before her, she felt her Energies stir. ‘There is only so much I can do’; she knew this truth in her heart. The Energies within soothed, settling down as if to sleep.

“You asked me once, to tell you when it was time to stop. You told me, as my people, you would stand strong when things got rough. You made the choices.”

The people looked at her as if she had betrayed them, left them to do no less than rot and starve in the streets.

“Queen Scyana, you cannot do this. We demand you give us the money we ask for, the lives we seek, and you do so now.”

Scyana closed her hands together in front of her waist. Her hazel eyes met the floor momentarily. Raising her eyes to the two men who stood before her, she found herself speaking more calmly than ever;

“There is no money left for you to burn. There is no blood left in a single body, all to which lie on the grounds below you. There. Is. No. More. Threaten, demand, hold a peasants’ revolt. Do whatever you wish. My son and I are going to carry on as we can, you may take all but our companions.”

The larger of the two men stepped forward, alone this time.

“His is my son too.”

“Yes, so now you say he is. Respect this as I may, your Majesty, “ Scyana’s eyes narrowed “You have said it yourself, he is truly My Son. He goes everywhere with me, he is My Responsibility.”

The second man glanced up from the stone floor he had gazed upon so intently. He looked at his companion, surprised such a thing would be true. Yet, before he could think of something to show this, another voice caught the mens’ attention.

“Why can’t you stay away?”

Queen Scyana’s head snapped towards the deep voice ,which emanated across the arena. The Captain of the Guard stood in the middle, deep brown eyes demanding nothing less than full submission from the Royal Lady before him.

“Stay away? Walking away is all I feel I have been doing. What would you have me do if you will not even admit the truth to yourself?”

“What truth? What the hell are you going on about with this insanity?” Captain Grant growled.

“I cannot say. I do not know where your heart lies, Sir. You Captain, are either lying to me of your intentions, or your heart is suffering.”

“Never.”

By this time, the entire crowd lay hushed. Even His Majesty had grown silent, unsure of why the Captain’s heart would be suffering because of the Queen. King Randal was certain Scyana only bled for him, that she was his prisoner.

Scyana closed her eyes, took a deep breath, then locked eyes with Captain Grant. Her shoulders, lean and muscular, straightened. Her torso, curved but unbending. She stood as still as stone, yet her Will could be felt throughout her homelands.

“Liar.”

“You dare call me such!” Captain Grant rushed the stairs before her, bounding 5 at a time until his breath could be felt on Scyana’s cheeks.

“You will not claim me to lie; you pursued and failed!”

“Your demons say otherwise.”

“My demons?! I have no demons!”

“Your demons seek me in my dreams. They pluck at me like small children until I pay them heed. The message is always the same — you need me. The burns on my back are left as reminders.” Turning to bare her evidence to the onlookers; she parted her large grey wings. There, lie scratches, seared into her skin as if something wanted her to know deperately that it was there.

“I have never harmed you and never would! Why would you mind these demons’ demands?! How could you do this?!” King Randal found his voice at the sight of the marks, knowing this man, this Fool, had taken the Queen away without Randal’s knowledge. That somehow, the Captain had accomplished what Randal never could; he had found a way to control the Queen.

Scyana shook her head, feeling it all go out of control. She slipped behind her throne, as the two men faced one-another, ready to fight among themselves.

Grunts and groans heard, Scyana cringed, slipping down to the towers basement, hoping to find a way out. She knew the arena would keep them all busy. The men were too wrapped up in their own suffering to notice her escape.

Tears slipped down her cheeks as she walked on. The Captain of the Guards. Grant R. Charles. Handsome, smart, a true Man of Honor. He had captured Scyana’s heart years ago, unknown to anyone. She had, instead, married the King, Sir Randal Fier, as a way to do some right in the world. Yet Randal was not as his kingdom saw him. They saw his easy smile, his youthful appearance, his jovial disposition.

Scyana had seen his anger. She had seen his darkness and kept all his secrets. She had witnessed his wrath if she strayed too far from his grasp. Randal had imprisoned Scyana slowly; always apologizing, always telling her he never wanted to lose her.

Randal also demanded one more thing; blood. Small bits here and there at first. Yet, lately his appetite had been insatiable. Scyana sought to get away before their son adopted his father’s ways.

Picking up her pace ever so, Scyana cleared away her tears.

‘Neither will I be with’ she thought. Her Energies danced outside of her then, as if overjoyed because they knew she would need Them again. She would rely on them to take her and her son away to a new world where they would start over.

Randal thought it all came down to controlling her. To deciding Scyana’s Fate, keeping her safe and tucked away. Scyana smiled though; even someone she let hold her heart could not imprison her.

“Aaaaahhhhhh!” Scyana dropped to her knees, wings wrapping in on themselves. Her back felt as if fire were ripping through it with claws of steel.

“I won’t give in. I won’t” but Scyana could not stand, no matter how she struggled to right herself.

She crumpled to the floor, giving into the oncoming blackness…….

--

--