fantasy setting with very pale young woman in the background, older dark-skinned woman in the foreground both in white fur with a mountain behind
© Teresa Wymore

DIGITAL ART | ORIGINAL CHARACTERS | FANTASY | LGBTQ

Darklaw | The Lost Daughter Cover Detail

Teresa Wymore 🏳️‍🌈
Darklaw
Published in
2 min readNov 6, 2022

--

I was excited to paint a scene from an entirely different part of the fantasy world, a snowy peak with a temple of disciples. This gave me a different color palette and lighting. I created the painting with my usual warm tones but then played with screens of varying colors and opaqueness until I got the ethereal quality I wanted for this scene at the top of the world.

Screen grab from Photoshop showing the color/lighting filters off © Teresa Wymore

I also got to paint a girl. Children’s proportions are quite different from adults — larger head and eyes, small jaw, rounded features. Avesha is on the edge of puberty, but she’s also a god, so she’s supposed to look older than her age. I hope the resemblance to her mother, Avestine, is clear. Maybe also, her father?

The Darklaw Saga is a linked story collection published at Tantalizing Tales and Redemption Magazine. Find all episodes here.

--

--

Teresa Wymore 🏳️‍🌈
Darklaw

Author-Illustrator | Morally ambiguous lesbian fiction & dark eroticism | Pursuing Jouissance | https://linktr.ee/teresa.social