AliveCor’s Imperfect Apple Watch Band Is Perfect For Me (Kardia Band)

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
1 min readDec 14, 2017

After initially hesitating at the thought of sacrificing 19,900 pennies for an Apple Watch band, I decided to invest (at least that is what I told myself) in a portable medical device called Kardia Band by AliveCor.

Material wise the Kardia band itself is nothing special as I have purchased similar bands for under ten dollars.

But what makes Kardia Band unique is its ability to perform an EKG (aka ECG or electrocardiogram) without the need to visit a doctor.

So far AliveCor confirmed that my heart is healthy, but Kardia Band does suffer from a few inherent flaws:

  • Unlike my Apple Watch, Kardia Band is not waterproof (it is, however, water resistant but you can not swim with it)
  • It’s only available in one style which is soft black silicon (I prefer metal)
  • It quickly drains away my Apple Watch’s battery due to always on workout mode
  • Performing an EKG after a workout is not advisable due to AliveCor’s inability to accurately analyze my heart above 100 bpm

Aside from those flaws I am enjoying Kardia Band, which will hopefully alert me if my heart is experiencing any issues.

However, I do wish AliveCor would consider making a metallic band version soon (as long as the metal links will not interfere with the EKG).

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio