Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
2 min readApr 16, 2015

--

Avoid Divisive People…But Be Wise Unto Good‽

It’s an odd passage within Romans (if you ask me) but Apostle Paul recommends avoiding people who are divisive against doctrine within the church.

Now I beseech you, brethren, mark them which cause divisions and offences contrary to the doctrine which ye have learned; and avoid them.

For they that are such serve not our Lord Jesus Christ, but their own belly; and by good words and fair speeches deceive the hearts of the simple. (Romans 16:17–18)

I personally prefer a good debate as my perspective is that the truth will win out in the end (eventually enlightening all minds of course).

But perhaps Paul is right that discussing (or rather “lightly” debating) with fellow Christians who strongly believe that:

  • monetary greed is good (love of money)
  • attaining Godhood (basically becoming God)
  • using politics as a “spiritual weapon”
  • redefining sex/marriage to match cultural norms
  • justifying individual violence (seeking vengeance instead of justice)

…should be not only accepted but heavily promoted within the Churches of the world is ultimately a waste of time.

After all it’s not my job to convince anyone of the truth through skilled arguments but rather patiently allow God to enlighten their minds (just as he continues to enlighten my ignorant brain).

That said I am not sure why Apostle Paul decrees that avoiding them is the best course of action, although I will trust his judgement in the matter (even if I do not fully grasp the reason behind it).

Wise Unto Good…

Reading this passage at first made little sense to me…

For your obedience is come abroad unto all men. I am glad therefore on your behalf: but yet I would have you wise unto that which is good, and simple concerning evil. (Romans 16:19)

…but I think (key word is think) Apostle Paul desires that I seek to greatly understand what being good, righteous, loving, et al, is instead of using my time & energy learning the ways of the wicked.

While I should be aware of evil within this world (as being ignorant of it can easily result in a quick death!), I should not be a “scholar of wickedness” but instead be student of integrity & righteousness.

And the God of peace shall bruise Satan under your feet shortly. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you. Amen. (Romans 16:20)

Selah…

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio