Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
2 min readJun 13, 2015

--

Enlightenment via Thessalonians

I have not been posting what I have gleaned from scriptures lately but since I (currently) have the time here are some passages from 1 Thessalonians 5:14–22 (as well as how they apply to my life).

Now we exhort you, brethren, warn them that are unruly, comfort the feebleminded, support the weak, be patient toward all men.

  • Don’t be dumb & watch people engage in destructive behavior without alerting them to the consequences
  • Comfort the distressed (as opposed to adding fear and drama towards it)
  • Strengthen those around me (however I can)
  • Do not overreact to people (give them grace instead)

See that none render evil for evil unto any man; but ever follow that which is good, both among yourselves, and to all men.

  • Do not repay offenses against me with more offenses. There is always a third (good) option
  • Follow the good in life & encourage good to others around me

Rejoice evermore.

  • Choose to be joyful in spite of circumstances

Pray without ceasing.

  • Always communicate to God (concerns, musings, et al)

In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.

  • Be thankful to God as well as people around me for the blessings they provide (big & small)
  • Display gratitude for what I have, & avoid being resentful for what I lack (this is what God desires)

Quench not the Spirit.

  • Do not engage in stupid stuff that offends God (He would rather help improve & enlighten me than constantly clean up my messes)

Despise not prophesyings.

  • Do not ignore/mock/be apathetic towards the plans God has for my life

Prove all things; hold fast that which is good.

  • Verify actions, views, et al, are righteous & worthy of pursuit (music, movies, media, advice, etcetera)

Abstain from all appearance of evil.

  • Avoid associating with wickedness as I (for better or worse) represent Christ in a hostile, dangerous & depraved world.

That’s all I have thus far…I probably need to post more of these…

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio