Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
1 min readDec 2, 2012

--

For the Love of Money

Money doesn’t determine personal value any more than wind determines a creature’s ability to fly.

I’ve been catching myself valuing decisions (both large and small) based solely upon money.

Politics: which candidate can benefit me the most financially?

Work: Which job can pay me the most money? (regardless whether it hurts or helps me towards destiny)

Etcetera: Which app, activity, or web service can make me the most money?

Reality Check

“For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.”

~Apostle Paul (1 Timothy 6:10)

Using money as a primary determining factor makes me (philosophically speaking) no different than the prostitute sexually offering their bodies and minds in exchange for some extra cash.

Money is not evil any more than a spoon is evil due to the fact that both can be used and abused by evil.

But money should not be the basis (or even the first step) for determining decisions in my life, as that is the definition of vanity.

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio