Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
1 min readAug 16, 2015

--

[gallery]

Less Is More (Leatherman Tread)

Too Long, Didn’t Read: Losing a screw forced me ditch a Leatherman Tread link, which lead to Tread fitting more snugly upon wrist.

Too Long, Want To Read: After receiving my Leatherman Tread in the mail via Cabelas I ended up losing a screw somewhere in the city.

Truthfully I was upset with myself for not tightening the screw a little harder & ended up calling both Leatherman & Cabelas to see if I could order replacement screws (answer so far is not yet).

The loss of the screw forced me to choose which link to sacrifice for the greater good.

Since I bought the Leatherman Tread as a replacement for the ever annoying hex keys & box wrenches, I ended up ditching the Leatherman ¹/₂ link (the latter which only featured 2 mini flat head screw drivers).

Removing the half link turned out to be a blessing in disguise as the Tread fits a tighter on my wrist with just enough slack to “spin” it around (so I can locate the correct tool to use).

Long Story Short: Although I still plan on ordering replacement screws, I may end up not using the orphaned ¹/₂ in the foreseeable future.

I will probably remove several more links as well once Leatherman releases links that will pair the Tread with Apple Watch.

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio