Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
3 min readAug 30, 2015

--

[gallery]

Lamentations…

I read Lamentations 3:21–27 by Prophet Jeremiah this morning (as well as another passage) & these verses remained ingrained upon my brain.

21 This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope.

Despite everything wrong happening to Jeremiah’s life, he still retained hope in this one thing…

22 It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not.

God’s mercy is the difference between my continued existence & my justified destruction.

The fact that the Almighty expresses compassion towards me (an emotion I do not deserve) is the primary reason that I have not been destroyed from the face of the Earth.

23 They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.

God renews his mercy towards me every day; God hits the reset button despite my previous failings the day before.

God is faithful, even when I am not.

24 The Lord is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him.

God is my sustenance in this life!

As I depend upon food & water in order to exist, so does my being depend upon God’s words, blessings & enlightenment in order to not only exist, but to thrive in this harsh world.

God also is my first & last hope for the future.

25 The Lord is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him.

God wants me to patiently wait upon his timing & not try to rush his blessings in my life.

Waiting upon God to intervene might be difficult, but it is important for me to seek out the Divine’s best instead of accepting a second rate substitute.

26 It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the Lord.

Waiting upon God to act is good, as he expects me not to become anxious about life but instead trust in God’s timing.

27 It is good for a man that he bear the yoke in his youth.

While I am young & strong it is good that I endure what ever hardships come my way (as the alternative is much worse).

More Lamentations‽

The second passage in Lamentations 3:31–36 also struck a chord with my soul.

31 For the Lord will not cast off for ever:

God is just but he does not hold eternal grudges.

32 But though he cause grief, yet will he have compassion according to the multitude of his mercies.

God will continuously hand out justice towards me (in order to correct my soul from embracing destructive habits) but he will always reserve compassion for me.

33 For he doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

34 To crush under his feet all the prisoners of the earth,

35 To turn aside the right of a man before the face of the most High,

36 To subvert a man in his cause, the Lord approveth not.

God never enjoys tormenting people for the sake of seeing tears of pain (contrary to what he is ignorantly portrayed as in the culture).

Causing misery is not God’s hobby — however God does desire that I (along with my fellow human beings) embrace holiness.

Selah!

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio