Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
2 min readOct 14, 2013

--

[gallery]

Know Thy Path…And Work Towards That End

After being inspired by Tom Brady and the Patriots to never give up in spite of the odds (lest I become a Unicorn and/or Show Pony! LOL!) I decided to take a 3rd look at some of the goals/dreams I have for my life in spite of the pending recession that threatens my world with insta-poverty.

After popping open the Proverbs of Solomon several verses caught my eye.

“There is a way which seemeth right unto a man, but the end thereof are the ways of death. (Proverbs 14:12)”

Without the assistance of a time machine (or someone like Dr. Who known for having a time machine) it is impossible for me to predict, know or even grasp the future with certainty.

I am a creature trapped within time and any course I chart could ultimately lead towards my untimely death.

This is why I need the assistance of a being who exists outside of time (aka God Almighty) to help navigate me through the perils of life.

While I’m ultimately responsible for my actions, mixing it with divine wisdom will result in victory (if not in the short term then definitely in the long term).

“The simple believeth every word: but the prudent man looketh well to his going. (Proverbs 14:15)”

Basically I need to verify more and be gullible less.

Basically make sure things are done lest Murphy’s Law comes back and bites me on the Wazoo.

Example: I needed a passport picture taken and decided to have one shot at the local UPS (who advertised that they took passport photos).

There were some slight shadows in the picture and despite thoroughly reading the rules of “no shadows” allowed, I took the gentlemen’s word that the picture was ok.

Sadly my passport renewal application was rejected just as the US government shut down over squabbles with Obamacare (so I now have to patiently wait until it reopens again…Sigh).

Moral of the story: Verify everything stupid!

“In all labour there is profit: but the talk of the lips tendeth only to penury. (Proverbs 14:23)”

I like to talk, dream and plan about the future but in the end the difference between a dream and a realized future is action.

Despite the odds for (or against) success and regardless of the obstacles, I must “prove my worth” by demonstrating whether the dreams dreamt in my head are feasible in the real world.

These next few months will be hectic but God willing by Christmas I’ll be overseas in either Israel or China.

Image Credits: Patriots on Instagram, screenshots from Olive Tree Bible Study app, BBC One, respective flags of Israel and China.

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio