Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2015

--

God Is My Superhero‽

Reading through King David’s Psalms is enlightening me to the fact that God is more than an excellent source of wisdom or a helping hand in time of need.

God ultimately transcends my perspective of being a powerful guide for life & is more akin to an ever present super hero.

To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David, the servant of the Lord, who spake unto the Lord the words of this song in the day that the Lord delivered him from the hand of all his enemies, and from the hand of Saul: And he said,

I will love thee, O Lord, my strength.

The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.

I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies. (Psalms 18:1–3)

Delving into this passage it’s clear that the Divine is my:

  • Stability in an unstable world
  • Primary (& only) defense against all adversity
  • Rescuer in times of immense crisis
  • Ruler of my life
  • Source for might in this world
  • Confidence when I am uncertain
  • Reason that holds my life together
  • Only option for eternal life
  • Personal status in life

As a bonus God not only loves me consistently (even when my love towards him is inconsistent) but ultimately is the only being worthy of my praise due to the fact that he will deliver me in times of need.

So whenever I face adversities, issues or problems in life, instead of seeking out worldly wisdom/might first, I should inquire what solutions/help the Almighty can offer me instead.

Selah!

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio