Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
1 min readJan 7, 2015

--

Good to know if I cramp up my leg during a run!

Ever have a calf cramp wake you up in the middle of the night, or knock you down in the middle of a workout? There’s a way to send that cramping, spasming muscle a signal to relax: contract the opposite muscle.

For your calf muscle, the opposite is the tibialis anterior, on the front of your shin. Activate this muscle by using it to pull your toes upward, off the floor. You can even have a friend push down on your instep while you push upward against their hand. Sometimes the cramp will release instantly; sometimes I find it takes a good 30 seconds. (via Life Hacker)

Testing this on my leg already I can feel the muscles relax & contract.

I wish I knew about this tip when I was younger!

Note: Information originally posted upon Tribook.

(Source: https://www.youtube.com/)

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio