Jesus Keeps It Simple

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
1 min readJan 15, 2017

These are perhaps my favorite verses in the New Testament (which Christ references from the First Testament) about God & humanity.

And Jesus answered him, The first of all the commandments is, Hear, O Israel; The Lord our God is one Lord:

And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment.

And the second is like, namely this, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. There is none other commandment greater than these. (Mark 12:29 – 31)

Basically my first priority is to love God – not like him – but passionate love the Almighty with every fiber of my being!

Putting God first above all else ensures I am guided by eternal truth instead of ever changing trends – facts instead of feelings – and will ensure I gain the most while trekking through the real world.

Secondly (& just as hard) I am suppose to love humans – even the annoying ones!

It does not matter if I differ with them about:

  • sports (including haters of my Patriots)
  • politics (even if they are not libertarian)
  • music (that unfortunately includes country music lovers)
  • Etcetera (lifestyles, crazy fashion choices, et al)

…I am suppose to love them for the fact that they are human.

Easier said than done…

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio