Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
3 min readJul 24, 2015

--

King Solomon Slaying Cultural Mores (Plus Extra)

Great read today in the book of Proverbs (perhaps my favorite book due to the zillion tips within), with a few surprises (at least for me).

Interesting how King Solomon ancient wisdom clashes with a few Christian sayings (not to mention American cultural views) that I have heard over many years (some from influential church leaders).

To do justice and judgment is more acceptable to the Lord than sacrifice. (Proverbs 21:3)

Ethos Killed: “It is easier to ask for forgiveness than permission.”

I have written about this before but God expects me (as well as other human beings) to not be a schmo & do the right thing the first time.

Simply doing an action knowing that you will eventually gain forgiveness from a future offended party is not wisdom, but wickedness.

It is also a trademark of manipulation (which is an evil character trait).

The horse is prepared against the day of battle: but safety is of the Lord. (Proverbs 21:31)

Ethos Killed: “God is good, but he is not safe.”

I have heard this phrase uttered by Christian musicians as well as preachers, & for years believed this was true.

Not sure who started this saying (perhaps it was an attempt to make choosing God to appear ultra risky & cool‽) but in hindsight choosing God is the safest choice that I have made in my life.

Yes, choosing Christ does not mean one will avoid danger altogether but knowing that God is guiding me in this chaotic world is (not suprisingly) reassuring.

Be not thou one of them that strike hands, or of them that are sureties for debts.

If thou hast nothing to pay, why should he take away thy bed from under thee? (Proverbs 22:26–27)

Ethos Killed: None.

Avoid impulse agreements whether it is agreeing to aid a stranger/friend without fully understanding the scenario or impulse shopping on the whim (like I did on Amazon Prime Day).

I should only bind myself to agreements/purchases if I understand the advantages & consequences of my actions (especially when time & money is involved).

Rejoice not when thine enemy falleth, and let not thine heart be glad when he stumbleth:

Lest the Lord see it, and it displease him, and he turn away his wrath from him. (Proverbs 24:17–18)

Ethos Killed: “Ha, ha!” (in the Simpsons voice)

Delighting in the calamities of my enemies does not a good Christian make (yes, I did write that grammatically wrong on purpose).

When God is publicly disciplining another fellow human being, he is doing it to:

  • correct an injustice
  • correct a misguided mind
  • warn others from following the same path

Rejoicing when my foes fall displeases the Almighty, & he will end punishment early if I gloat over their current trial (as he does not want me rejoicing in the destruction of others).

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio