Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
2 min readJan 9, 2013

--

Manipulating God

After reading this in the book of Samuel I realize how guilty I am of attempting to manipulate the Almighty.

Let us fetch the ark of the covenant of the Lord out of Shiloh unto us, that, when it cometh among us, it may save us out of the hand of our enemies. (1 Samuel 4:3b)

Background: Basically the Israelites (way back when) were trying to force God to save them in a battle despite forsaking his ways.

It didn’t work.

Trying to force God to act in a certain way based on our limited perspectives and circumstances is not only dangerous, but foolish.

Despite realizing that Jesus Christ has my very best interests in mind (not to mention an intelligence beyond my comprehension), I still try to force his hand in select scenarios.

Examples

Me: God if you let me date this girl, I’ll fulfill whatever destiny you have in store for me.

God: She isn’t the right one for you. Let her go.

Me: God, help me secure this job offer / contract position and I’ll donate a large sum of my income to feeding the poor and to Church.

God: This career path will distract you from where I want you to be. Don’t bother applying.

Me: I know eating this food isn’t exactly healthy, but could you spare me from the side effects?

God: Don’t eat it.

What I need to do

It’s actually very simple. I just need to accept that God is right, and has my long term best interests in mind.

Could I continue to manipulate God and get what I want? YES!

But there is a consequence.

They soon forgat his works; they waited not for his counsel: But lusted exceedingly in the wilderness, and tempted God in the desert. And he gave them their request; but sent leanness into their soul. (Psalms 106:13–15)

No more soul famines. Time to fully trust in God.

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio