Principles (Still) Matter…

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
2 min readNov 11, 2016

--

When faced with death by water or death by fire, choose life instead.

A few days ago I was faced with the two primary (out of seven available) options of voting for:

  • An experienced albeit extremely corrupt politician whose policies would slowly diminish my future or
  • An arrogant albeit unsuccessful novice whose rhetoric and/or policies would threaten my semi-immediate future

Instead of voting for the lesser of two evils I voted for good instead – knowing full well that evil would win the next day.

So now that my beloved country has a new President, now what‽

The integrity of the upright shall guide them: but the perverseness of transgressors shall destroy them.

The righteousness of the perfect shall direct his way: but the wicked shall fall by his own wickedness. (King Solomon, Proverbs 11:3 & 5)

My environment may or may not change but my principles of life & liberty need to remain the same.

Principles still matter, & even if my view of the future is worlds apart from my friends & family (who endorsed corruption or authoritarianism by their vote) I should not abandon my principles out of despair.

Instead I should let my principles guide me towards a better future – one that lets me value human life and liberty instead of life or liberty.

Image Credit: Playbuzz

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio