Samuel’s First Farewell…

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
2 min readSep 22, 2017

--

So I am still meditating on book one of Samuel & I noticed his first (of many) political farewell to the people of Israel after he answered their request for a king.

For the Lord will not forsake his people for his great name’s sake: because it hath pleased the Lord to make you his people. (1 Samuel 12:22)

God does not abandon his people (after all he does have a reputation to maintain) & God always delights in his people.

His people may annoy, grieve & anger the Almighty at times but he is committed to being faithful towards us – because God delights in being around us!

Moreover as for me, God forbid that I should sin against the Lord in ceasing to pray for you: but I will teach you the good and the right way: (1 Samuel 12:23)

Samuel committed to being an intercessor as well as intermediator by praying on Israel’s behalf to God. (note: this is something I need to do more of with friends & family)

Samuel also committed to enlightening the minds & hearts of those around him with the truth & how to walk in it throughout this journey called life.

Only fear the Lord, and serve him in truth with all your heart: for consider how great things he hath done for you. (1 Samuel 12:24)

Reverencing God is important but so is serving God in truth…without hesitation.

Lest I (as well as other folks) forget God has intervened on my behalf & wants me to remember how he has blessed me lest I lose confidence in his ability to aid me in the future.

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio