Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
2 min readJan 11, 2015

--

The Quick & The Dead — & The Unpopular Truth

Truth is enjoyable until it conflicts with our (or rather my) beliefs.

Worse (according to my feeble perspective), broadcasting an unpopular truth that conflicts with not only current culture but “personal convictions” is even more difficult, especially when it challenges long held political/personal world views (in my case, being Libertarian).

But excuses are not what God settles for or accepts.

​”I charge thee therefore before God, and the Lord Jesus Christ, who shall judge the quick and the dead at his appearing and his kingdom;“

“Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all longsuffering and doctrine.” (2 Timothy 4:1–2)

God is love & full of grace, but (something I tend to forget) he is also holy, just, & desirous for humans to encounter the truth — whether that comes from the Almighty himself or another human being.

That human being nominated tell the truth (irregardless of cultural acceptance) is probably the part that makes me the most nervous as telling the unpopular truth tends to have consequences.

“For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears;”

“And they shall turn away their ears from the truth, and shall be turned unto fables.” (2 Timothy 4:3–4)

Irregardless of whether one lives in a thriving democracy or autocratic society (or impoverished one for that matter), I’ve noticed that people tend to gather around leaders who appeal towards their worldview.

This is not surprising, however the question I need to ask myself is:

  • Am I seeking out the comfort of leaders, friends, colleagues who embrace my “perfect” worldview‽ Or
  • Am I seeking out leaders, friends, colleagues who will enlighten me with the uncomfortable, cold truth‽

After all it is not only foolish but dangerous to live a comfortable lie as that will ultimately blind me towards not only reality itself but also future success.

“But watch thou in all things, endure afflictions, do the work of an evangelist, make full proof of thy ministry.” (2 Timothy 4:5)

Perhaps is Apostle Paul’s way of saying, “Be alert, be tough, broadcast truth & remember why you chose to become a disciple of Christ in the first place.”

Selah…

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio