Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
1 min readJun 29, 2014

--

Trial By Temptations

What sucks mostly about being a Christian is that all of your abhorrent desires, corrupt faults & skewed outlooks on life are not instantly changed the minute you pledge loyalty towards Jesus Christ.

Although some things do change quickly (at least from my experience), others take “eons” to get through.

Worse, some temptations remain daily and/or weekly battles that seem to never end no matter how much I progress in my journey to becoming a better man in Christ.

Fortunately James is there to enlighten me:

“My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing. (James 1:2–4)”

Enduring temptations are never fun but triumphing over them is what leads to a better person.

While I should do everything in my power to flee temptation (1 Corinthians 6:16), I should realize that being tempted–& over coming it will eventually lead towards me become a better man.

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio