Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
2 min readJul 4, 2015

--

Words of Wisdom (Via Apostle Paul)

Decided to post this daily devotional from Ephesians 5:3–7 (a book which seems to be a recurring theme this week).

But fornication, and all uncleanness, or covetousness, let it not be once named among you, as becometh saints;

Yes, God is love & God is forgiving but he does not enjoy his disciples engaging in hypocritical life styles.

I noticed God placed covetousness up there with fornication (as all sin is equally detestable in his eyes), which means I have much work to do on the former.

I also need to start examining the content I watch upon Netflix & HBO (as God would probably judge some of it as unclean).

Neither filthiness, nor foolish talking, nor jesting, which are not convenient: but rather giving of thanks.

Engaging in silly chatter & accepting dangerous dares is not wise (so I should avoid these behaviors).

Also expressing more gratitude in my life is something I need to work upon.

For this ye know, that no whoremonger, nor unclean person, nor covetous man, who is an idolater, hath any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and of God.

God is comparing covetousness with idolotry‽ :-(

Yeah, I have some work to do on my part!

Let no man deceive you with vain words: for because of these things cometh the wrath of God upon the children of disobedience.

I need to avoid being so easily swayed into tolerating “the little sins” by friends (which are a big deal to God).

Also watching television shows (on Netflix & HBO) that are recommended by friends but disapproved by the Devine (due to the content in them) is another issue I need to examine.

God’s grace is great but he will bring judgement if I refuse to repent.

Be not ye therefore partakers with them.

Do not engage/encourage with these behaviors.

God cares about my actions (both big & small) as they are a testimony to what he is doing in my life.

Conclusion

Gossip & covetousness are what I need to work on, as well as what I watch online (Netflix & HBO mainly).

Selah…

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio