Yoruba, Yorubaland & Nigeria (Oh My!)

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)
Published in
2 min readAug 28, 2018

So after discovering that I share genetic relations with the Yoruba tribe in Nigeria (among other tribes), I am attempting to become somewhat fluent with my ancestral language before visiting Yorubaland in Nigeria next year.

I am currently reading Colloquial Yoruba (not it’s full title) by Antonia Schleicher & this far I am gaining a grasp upon the correct pronunciations regarding the tones of words (I still need more practice before I can fully comprehend Yoruba grammar).

Fortunately, the book provides a free audio companion which is quite helpful when explaining how to pronounce gbi (yes, it’s a ”letter” in Yoruba).

My end goal is to be able to engage in casual conversations with my fellow Yoruba kinfolks & gradually mingle with them — even if it means consuming copious amounts of yam (I loathe yams).

--

--

Darnell Clayton
Darnell (Africa)

A carbon vessel interested in all things celestial. A human being with spiritual meaning. A political soul seeking libertarian goals. | www.Darnell.bio