Saturday, June 6th, 2020

South Venice bodysurf session

--

Location: Near Jibb street tower, South Venice / Marina penninsula

Time: Late morning (10:30am–12ish)

Conditions: 2–3' occasional 4' S swell, medium-high tide, light onshore winds, close out walls

Equipment: DaFin Swim Fins

Company: None

I will have to excuse myself for neglecting to post after my surf attempt last Saturday south of Manhattan Beach Pier, although no waves were caught after about 45 minutes in the water.

In any case, I didn’t leave my house today until about 9:30am on account of an early morning draining tide. After an unsuccesful attempt to find a parking spot around 26th Street Manhattan Beach and an unwillingness to shell out $13 to park at Dockweiler, I drove back up to the Marina del Rey area to find some beachside street parking near the Marina penninsula. Alas, after finding a spot and walking down to the sand to check the surf conditions, I, somewhat less than enthusiastically, opted to take my swim fins for a bodysurf session. As has been the trend for me lately, the waves were somewhat dumpy and offered few if any shoulders. I haven’t been surfing that much these days, and very rarely on those occasions opt to bodysurf. Being able to effortlessly bob and kick myself through waves that would have otherwise given me problems if I was bound to a surfboard is always nice. Didn’t get any remarkable rides, but at least I got wet!

--

--

Somebody.Surfer
Darrin’s Surf Logs…and Other Things

Darrin Moret is bodysurfing enthusiast from Los Angeles, California who dabbles in writing from time-to-time.