Sunday, August 2nd, 2020

Giving my friend a surf lesson at South Venice

--

Location: South Venice ( Southside of Venice Pier)

Time: Afternoon ( roughly 2pm–4pm)

Conditions: Overcast skies with marine layer ( less dense than this morning), weak surf mostly knee high (1') range, medium tide

Equipment: 8' Stormblade

Company: Ben Rosen

Less of a surf session than a surf lesson but since did actually catch a couple waves myself I suppose it still counts! My friend / ex-coworker recently bought a wetsuit and wanted to try surfing so I agreed to take him out and give him a lesson. I picked up the 8' Stormblade that’s been in my dad’s garage ever since I got my Almond Joy R-Series. He fared about as well as I expected but I think he had a good enough time. He went back to the sand after a while as he was starting to feel queasy in the water so I took the board from him and caught a couple little waves myself. I ended up loaning him the surfboard in case he wants to give it another go without me.

--

--

Somebody.Surfer
Darrin’s Surf Logs…and Other Things

Darrin Moret is bodysurfing enthusiast from Los Angeles, California who dabbles in writing from time-to-time.