Sunday, May 17th, 2020

South Venice slammers!

Somebody.Surfer
Darrin’s Surf Logs…and Other Things
1 min readMay 18, 2020

--

Location: Driftwood St. Tower, South Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA

Time: Early morning ( Approx 5:35–7:15am)

Conditions: 2–4' S / SW swell, high-ish tide, no wind, powerful closeout waves

Equipment: 8' Almond R-Series

Company: Cherilyn, Joy, Jon Lyu

I decided to return Sunday morning to surf South Venice beach (mostly out of convenience) this time meeting up with Cherilyn, Joy, and Jon Lyu — who I had met out in the water at El Porto sometime last fall and has not surfed with again since. When I walked down from Driftwood street to check out the waves around 5:20am, I could see that they were again, unsurprisingly, closed-out but packing significantly more punch than the day prior. We all paddled out a little ways south of Driftwood tower. Jon managed to catch a couple lefts as did I. On my first wave I made it down the face but was rocked violently off my surfboard by the exploding whitewater behind me, sending me flying forward into the shallows. I don’t think Joy or Cherilyn has much success either. Jon left the water first and the three of us followed suit about 20 or 30 minutes later.

--

--

Somebody.Surfer
Darrin’s Surf Logs…and Other Things

Darrin Moret is bodysurfing enthusiast from Los Angeles, California who dabbles in writing from time-to-time.