Sunday, May 24th, 2020

Mid-Day session at Manhattan Beach

Somebody.Surfer
Darrin’s Surf Logs…and Other Things
2 min readMay 24, 2020

--

Location: Near Tower 26, Manhattan Beach

Time: Late morning, early afternoon ( 10:35am–1:00pm)

Conditions: Mushy 1–2' South swell, medium-high tide, light onshore winds

Equipment: 8' Almond R-Series

Company: None

Given the less-than-ideal surf conditions, I couldn’t find adequate motivation to join Cherilyn and Joy for an early morning session near Manhattan Pier so I ended up laying in bed until around 8am ( very late by my standards). I had a lazy morning and didn’t actually leave the house until about 10am. Not surprisingly, it took me a while of driving around Manhattan Beach before finding a parking spot that didn’t have a 2-hour limit ( I don’t like to be time constrained when I don’t have a time constraint). Ended up snagging a free spot up the hill from the closed parking lot at 26th street. Cherilyn said they had a surprisingly fun session this morning and I kind of regretted not getting to the beach a bit sooner as it was a beautiful day out and the surf was small but looked kinda fun. It was indeed a perfect beach day and while there was definitely a good number of people out, it seemed there were fewer surfers in the water when I paddled out today than there were when I left the water yesterday morning. I caught some decent little waves, saw a couple dolphins, and stayed out until about 1pm — at which point the surf quality had deteriorated considerably. Not a bad way to spend a Sunday in Southern California I suppose :)

--

--

Somebody.Surfer
Darrin’s Surf Logs…and Other Things

Darrin Moret is bodysurfing enthusiast from Los Angeles, California who dabbles in writing from time-to-time.