To Serve and to Sacrifice

The Darrow School
Darrow Voices
Published in
3 min readNov 12, 2018

Remembering Edward M. McIlvain ’64

by Simon Holzapfel, Head of School, holzapfels@darrowschool.org

Edward Morton McIlvain ’64

I recently traveled to Vietnam as part of a tour of Asia to connect with Darrow alumni and attend student recruitment fairs. As we flew into Ho Chi Minh City, I found myself thinking about Darrow alumnus Edward Morton McIlvain, Class of 1964. A combat medic serving the 173rd Airborne Brigade of the U.S. Army Special Forces, he was killed in action in Vietnam on October 18, 1966. Each year, Darrow presents an award in his name to a member of the junior class who best exemplifies the qualities of vitality, integrity, and courage.

As we entered the city I wondered how people would look at me as an American, and what feelings remain there about that conflict. I considered the details of Eddie’s death, and thought about how hard it would be to die such a long way from home. What I discovered there was a nearly universal welcome and friendliness. To my eye, the war was a long-distant memory. New skyscrapers were popping up everywhere; luxury cars could be found on most streets; and the pervasive presence of large Western corporations made it feel as though the country has, in the end, embraced capitalism along with its independence. By contrast, I wondered how different the region was when Eddie was there, and about the experiences he had with civilians and direct enemies, as well.

On Veterans’ Day, I find myself again reminded of Eddie’s service, dedication, and sacrifice. He was by all accounts a magnificent human being: smart, honest, hard-working, a gifted athlete, and an all-around good guy. I think about what impact he would have had on the world had his time not ended too soon. I think about how Vietnam might look now had that conflict been resolved differently, or avoided entirely.

The only concrete message that I take away from this experience is to understand that the willingness to serve, and possibly die, at home or abroad, for the security of this country is laudable. I believe that it is the job of all Americans to stand up for the best of the American creed, both for its and our own sake, and, just as importantly, to honor the service of those with the courage to lay it all on the line.

Thank you, Eddie, for your belief in the best of what this country can be.

Simon Says… is a regular blog by Simon Holzapfel, Head of The Darrow School. Learn more about active curriculum and project-based learning at darrowschool.org.

Read Simon Holzapfel’s bio.

--

--

The Darrow School
Darrow Voices

The Darrow School is an independent coed boarding and day school for students in grades 9–12 and PG, located in New Lebanon, NY. www.darrowschool.org