A New Slack Channel is Born: Women of Dash

Stellabelle
DASH For Newbies
Published in
3 min readMar 22, 2017

It’s pretty obvious to everyone that Bitcoin and the digital currency world as a whole, is still a man’s world.

Sure, there are some women involved, but I would guess our numbers are still pretty tiny. If anyone has some statistics on this, I’d be very interested to find out. When I first joined the decentralized social media site Steemit last year, I had to inform most of the guys there that many women tend to avoid male-dominated online spaces. Let’s face it, harassment still happens all the time online. I should know, I’ve been stalked before. It’s really scary. I became stronger because of that experience, but wouldn’t wish it upon my worst enemy. Back to the topic at hand….Women of Dash.

Amanda B. Johnson of Dash

Dash is my latest crush.

Digital currencies are a lot like crushes and Dash is my latest one. I’m even considering converting all my Bitcoins to Dash. This crush is serious! But already after 3 weeks, it feels quite different from a crush because the Dash community is so solid. It could become my new steady relationship! Or even my next virtual country? Anything is possible.

I’m excited about the governance system within Dash and also its structure for properly incentivizing people. The organization within the Dash ecosystem is enviable. The best part for me personally though, is how I’ve been treated. I’ve been respected and acknowledged. My gifts have been recognized. This is huuuuuge, people. I feel quite happy in Dash land. I go where happy feelings are, even though that sounds really corny to type out just now. But it’s the truth! I tend to live where I am most needed and most appreciated, and so far Dash has really come through for me. I’m only human after all……..

A new Dash friend of mine, @aniinl, whom I met in the Dash Slack channel, just created a new chatroom called Women_of_Dash.

pixabay

If you haven’t joined Slack and want to check it out, here’s the invite code: https://dash-nation-invite.herokuapp.com/ You can find both of us in there.

The #Women_of_Dash chat room is a place where we can share ideas, support each other and feel comfortable just being ourselves. It’s really not too different from the other channels, but maybe it could make a real difference for some of you out there.

@aniinl and I are usually in Slack, in addition to being in the dash_talk channel, too. So, we are welcoming you to join us there! Feel free to ask either of us questions as we are more than happy to help you out.

Right about now you might be asking yourself the question:

Are there pink fluffy unicorns dancing on rainbows in the Women of Dash Slack chatroom?

Here’s your answer:

Come and join us! And get your Dash wallet before you come in because you never know when the next Dash rain will happen!

If you don’t know what Dash rain is, you soon will.

That is your bread crumb.

About the author:

Leah Stephens is the editor of Dash For Newbies, writer and full stack artist. She has written one book, Un-Crap Your Life which is now available on Amazon. She wrote for Interesting Engineering before discovering the blockchain. She runs a zany YouTube channel and she’s now working within the Dash decentralized autonomous organization. Most days she can be found lurking on Twitter and in the Women of Dash Slack channel. She’s also a top writer in Steemit. Her favorite quote is by Rimbaud:

“I have researched the magic shapes of the happiness no one escapes.”

--

--