My Mom Might Be The Oldest American Woman To Own Cryptocurrency In A Trezor

Stellabelle
DASH For Newbies
Published in
3 min readJun 4, 2017

My mom might be among the rarest demographic in the United States right now: a woman over 75 years old who owns cryptocurrency.

So yeah, she finally caved in a few weeks ago and told me she wanted to buy some DASH. She had grown tired of hearing me talk about my crypto earnings day in and day out for the past year. So, I bought some for her when DASH was around $89. It’s gone up to $141 recently, as I suspected it would.

I’ll never forget the day a few weeks ago when she got that little twinkle in her eye while she was thinking about the extra $500 she had sitting in her bank account. She realized that the $500 USD wasn’t generating any money or value by just sitting in her savings account. She realized that it could generate a lot more profit if she converted that money into a cryptocurrency like DASH. If you look at DASH’s charts over the years, it seems like one of the safest bets for long-term holding. It’s slow and steady growth is kind a rare thing in the crypto space. But because crypto day traders think it’s kind of boring is the exact reason I like DASH. And it’s perfect for people like my mom who has an extra $500 to invest. From her $500 investment into DASH, she has already made $289, if she were to cash out all her DASH today. But she decided to hold onto DASH, especially since Evolution hasn’t come out. To be able to make $289 in profit without doing anything is kind of a big deal and she gets it now.

I’ve already put her DASH in cold storage, away from hackers. That’s essential if you’re going to hold cryptocurrency long-term. Keep that in mind.

Now she understands my crypto love affair a lot better, too.

my mom as girl, on the far right.

I downloaded the CoinCap app onto her smartphone recently, so now she can check the daily price of DASH and see how her $500 investment is growing. My mom is probably a rare kind of person because she’s very flexible and has always been interested in futuristic stuff. A couple of years ago she told me that she gets upset by the fact that she won’t be able to be alive in the future, and she has severe FOMO because of it.

I find it interesting that my mom turned out to be the one willing to literally dive heard first into crypto-land. She does have an adventurous spirit, so in many ways, I’m not too surprised. My dad is more risk averse than my mom. But still, my dad used to do traditional day trading. I’m surprised I haven’t been able to convert him as well…..I’m still working on him, and I haven’t given up yet…..

I made a video of my mom checking her smartphone for the latest price of DASH, so here it is:

The DASH community is one of the best places in crypto-land to start your education about digital currency. You will feel welcome there and people who are newbies can get the help they need. When I had technical questions, I got help from people in the forums. They were so nice to me, I was almost shocked. If you like to learn from forums, check out the DASH forums. If you like to chat in real-time join the DASH Nation Slack: https://dash-nation-invite.herokuapp.com/

While no cryptocurrency is a sure thing, DASH has the characteristics of a stable digital currency. People who are risk averse can feel much more secure by investing in DASH, at least that’s how I currently feel after doing 3 months of research about it.

Cheers,
Stellabelle

--

--