PEOPLE OF DASH: Candice (Subspaced), Community Liaison

Stellabelle
DASH For Newbies
Published in
5 min readJun 29, 2017

In this new series, PEOPLE OF DASH, you’ll learn about the humans who are working behind the scenes to make DASH, the digital cash choice for the masses.

Many of you may not be aware of the fact that DASH founder, Evan Duffield, just released the roadmap for Evolution, Dash’s revolutionary application that will greatly simplify and streamline the use of digital cash for the average person.

According to Blockchain News:

Dash, a leading payments-focused digital currency, has today unveiled its highly anticipated roadmap for Evolution, as well as ambitious plans for 2017 through to 2020 and beyond. -Blockchain News

What people may not know about DASH is how well its community works together and how diverse it actually is.

DASH is a global, decentralized community and contains different people from all over the world who are working together to lay down the social and technological foundations for the mass adoption of DASH. The success of any global organization, including cryptocurrencies, requires that people from different backgrounds utilize whatever skills they have to grow the size influence of the network. Most of the attention is focused on programmers, as they are the ones building the tools for the mainstream adoption of DASH, but the reality is that it takes all kinds of people to effectively build a healthy and robust global movement.

CANDICE (@subspaced)

COMMUNITY LIAISON

Stella: How and when did you find Dash?

Candice: I first purchased Crypto in 2014 due to the influence of my significant other Allan, @flyinfree. He’s the one who also brought me into Voluntaryism and eventually helped me see the value in freedom from traditional economic options that crypto could give us. I couldn’t quite see the vision of crypto that he had at the time, so I didn’t buy much (Bitcoin, Litecoin). In February of this year I began to see the Dash vision more clearly as he scrambled to be a MN owner. We would buy Bitcoin peer-to-peer at our local Starbucks (which probably looked more like drug deals, I know it felt like it) to purchase Dash! But the more we scrambled, the more we watched the MN value climb daily just out of our reach. At one point we stopped kicking ourselves for any hesitation on our part prior, and realized we are still on the ground floor of an amazing crypto. When we went to the Arizona open house in April and met the wonderful people behind it, we were hooked and could see the bright future of Dash!

S: What is your main contribution to Dash? Are you a MN owner?

C: I contribute in several ways. I am a future Masternode owner! I’m now holding Masternode shares with two very trusted individuals who offer the option but the goal is my own one day. I can’t tell you how happy I am that I can be part of the MN network now, even in partial status.

I also contribute by collecting and holding Dash every chance I get, usually from Wallofcoins, which has worked well for me.

Bringing new people into the community and helping them figure out the learning curve is another small way, although I will admit I’m still learning myself. I’m slightly intimidated about talking to mainstream non-crypto types about it but I still try. I am often in the Women of Dash Slack channel helping newbies feel at home and providing support to Dash Nation members.

And mining! A couple months ago we saw an obscure Russian video on youtube that was talking about 10.8 miners in China. Most people thought it was fake but luckily we have a very tenacious friend who mentioned it to the right people who then flew to China and checked it out first hand. Long story short the first wave of the miners should arrive soon, and as far as I know it all started with a little video people thought was fake. Being connected to Dash in that way will be very cool!

S: What’s different about Dash when compared to other coins?

C: The genius to me is the Masternode network which makes PrivateSend and InstantSend possible. Also having MN shares are like having a crypto savings account with interest paid right to my wallet. The governance structure is also key. The collaboration, attitude, and vision of the people who are steering Dash is pretty big. They plan ahead for growth and they figure things out peacefully. It’s like a relationship. When people are mindful of one another, stay calm, and try to figure out solutions in a good way, the potential to go far is reachable. That’s how the Dash team works so well.

S: How is Dash Nation unique in Crypto space?

C: Hmmm, well I can honestly say I’ve briefly explored other crypto spaces but Dash is my jam (except Steemit which also has a certain warmth to it as well). It’s a positive crypto space for sure, is that unique? Possibly. But to me that’s how people should treat one another anyway. Dash is love baby!

S: Do you have any predictions on how Dash Evolution will change the game?

C: By the sound of it, it’s going to change it completely. It will make the experience so seamless that no one is going to care anymore about it being crypto. I predict people will use it as a convenient means to pay others and their bills. I’m hoping it will become the preferred way to do anything of finance. I believe Dash Evolution will launch Dash to the #1 market cap.

S: What are the pros and cons of Dash?

C: The only con to me would be Dash’s network effect. It doesn’t have it yet compared to the other cryptos above it. But that will change when word of mouth takes off. If you compare its utility to other cryptos, there’s no contest. Last weekend I sold some Dash to a friend’s mom and we were floored at how instant it was from wallet to wallet.

In a nutshell the Pros would be InstantSend, PrivateSend, interest bearing shares in masternodes, supportive governance, and its open, affirming and approachable community.

About the author:

Stellabelle works for the DASH DAO as an editor, writer and artist. She also is a top writer on Steemit.com. Her first book, Un-Crap Your Life is available on Amazon in ebook or paperback format.

--

--