What The Heck is a DASH Masternode And How Do I Get One?

Stellabelle
DASH For Newbies
Published in
5 min readMar 29, 2017

--

The word, masternode, is pretty f**king intimidating. The guy pictured above could be a masternode for all I know. He’s got a mask on and seems just as untouchable as the word, masternode. Is he a real, live masternode?

“A master what???????? A node? What the heck is that? Is that like a lymph node?”

To understand what masternode means, we have to start with the word, node. I’m a very visual person so when I first heard the word node, I imagined some kind of enlarged, disgusting gland that’s trying to fight off a terrible infection (lymph node). And then when I put ‘master’ in front of that image…..well, it didn’t really sit well in my mind.

Node has tons of different definintions, but in this case, we’re only going to concern ourselves with the field of computer science.

Here’s the definition of node from wikipedia:

“A physical network node is an active electronic device that is attached to a network, and is capable of creating, receiving, or transmitting information over a communications channel.”

--

--