What have I learned after 1 year of consistent writing at Medium

100 stories, 60,000+ views, and a new pre-writing step

Dmytro Iakubovskyi
Data And Beyond
Published in
3 min readJul 22, 2023

--

Source: author, screenshot from https://medium.com/me/stats

One year ago, on July 22, 2022, I came to the platform and started consistently writing about my topics of interest such as data science, machine learning, and related writing experiences. With a few exceptions, I have managed to write at least once per week, resulting in a total of 100 articles during this period. Some stories got about a dozen views while others acquired up to several thousands. However,

No matter how much good content you write or many followers you have, it is the machine learning algorithm that decides whether your content will be distributed and who will eventually see it inside the platform.

You can easily see from the screenshot above that the average number of reads during the beginning of my 1-year journey is rather close (even if not exceeding!) to the latest weekly numbers. Also, the visible peak in the weekly number of reads (also seen in the screenshot above) occurred when someone decided that one of my stories was a good piece and mentioned that in her blog. In contrast, my most recent article, and (IMHO) much more useful…

--

--

Dmytro Iakubovskyi
Data And Beyond

Top writer in AI, Movies | Senior data scientist | Editor in Data And Beyond | https://www.linkedin.com/in/dima806/