A Week of Distra… *be right back*

This week I discovered how ADHD I actually am, but in a good way. I even forgot to record a whole day of distractions from (ironically) being distracted.

Jamie Kwan
Data Doodles
2 min readFeb 26, 2018

--

Wow, I get distracted a lot. The digital rabbit-hole that is social media is definitely real.

Browsing Twitter and Facebook at the office essentially caused a domino effect of small distractions leading into a massive distraction of finding new articles, reading about trends, and diving into things I was curious about. This was all away from the task I was supposed to be doing, but ended up leading towards new ideas in work I was going to be doing later on. I did get a lot of work done. Just… not for what I was supposed to be doing at that moment!

This week really was an exercise into mindfulness and productivity.

I openly acknowledge the benefits of spontaneous inspiration, especially in a creative position, however it’s really this challenge of catching yourself before you go too deep, and managing this spontaneous distraction.

I’ve never felt so productive, and unproductive, simultaneously.

--

--

Jamie Kwan
Data Doodles

Experience Designer & Strategist || Formerly @Gensler_Designs @ForrecDesigns || Big believer in designing with #play 🚀💥