Fantasy flash fiction

Multiverse of Destiny: Chapter 1

The Man in the Hat and the Blue Wave

Sunny Sorbet
2 min readJul 19, 2022

--

A hat. It is most definitely a hat that I see as my eyes adjust to my new environment. It is a bowler hat. The man is wearing a black bowler hat and he is looking down. Why? Why is he looking down?

He is a very well-dressed man. He wears a black three-piece suit and tie. He’s smoking. His cigarette dangles from his mouth. He grabs the cig with the fingers of his right hand and I see the tip glowing as he draws on it. Smoke billows around him as he exhales. We are in a dark room with one dim light.

My eyes widen as I watch what happens next.

He places his left-hand palm down against his stomach and makes a curving down and out motion with his hand. He does this again. And again. I watch in amazement as water starts to flow from his stomach. A large blue ocean wave emerges.

The water flows from out of his suit coat — out of his body. As I watch, I can see that he is controlling the wave, because he continues the motions with his hand.

Is this a magic trick? Am I dreaming? I blink and rub my eyes.

The color of the wave is medium blue and it rises and falls as it goes in and out of the man’s body. I can see the froth on the crest of the wave, just like any wave. I hear the sound of the ocean — the sound of waves crashing on a beach. This is a sound that brings back nice memories.

The size of the wave is about the same as the height of the man. And what is strange also is that his control of the waves is so good that the man is not getting wet.

I watch this until the man lifts his head and he looks me in the eye.

Return to my Medium page regularly for the next Chapter to read more of my adventures in this bizarre fantasy world! Thank you for reading! Don’t miss a story! Please like, share, comment, and follow me. @sunnysorbet

I’m a new writer, so please support me if you like my work!

Copyright Sunny Sorbet, 2022

--

--

Sunny Sorbet

The Multiverse…Alternative Worlds…Parallel Universes. Award-winning author Sunny Sorbet’s epic fantasy flash fiction series, “Multiverse of Destiny.”