Data, Data, Everywhere

The datasets of the novel coronavirus and COVID-19 pandemic.

barrysmyth
Data in the Time of the Coronavirus
2 min readMar 25, 2020

--

I think it is probably fair to say that we have all become a little obsessed with the novel coronavirus. As a data scientist I have been amazed to see how quickly organisations and researchers from around the world have pulled together a vast treasure-trove of relevant information, from scientific publications, which might otherwise have remained out of reach behind publisher firewalls, to a wealth of deep and detailed datasets.

In an effort to learn what I can about the pandemic I plan to produce a series of data science articles as I work through some of the more accessible and interesting research questions that can be asked of these datasets. The code and data that I will be using should be available from GitHub.

The main objective of this short article is to provide links to a growing list of relevant data and repositories. I’ll try and keep it up to date and as organised as I can over the coming weeks. If you have any suggestions about what’s missing then please let me know by replying to this article.

  1. European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control
  2. Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Center
  3. Kaggle Novel Coronavirus 2019 Dataset
  4. The Coronavirus Tech Handbook
  5. Dataset of COVID-19 related tweet-id
  6. COVID-19 Image Dataset (X-Rays/CT)
  7. WHO COVID-19 Situation Reports
  8. Worldometers Coronavirus Data
  9. Tableau COVID-19 Datahub
  10. ACAPS COVID-19: Government Measures Dataset
  11. COVID-19 Global Travel Restrictions and Airline Information
  12. COVID-19 Testing by Country
  13. Global School Closures COVID-19
  14. Novel Coronavirus Information Center
  15. Google’s BigQuery Public Dataset Programme
  16. Global Health Security Index
  17. Containment Measures

What am I missing? Please do let me know by replying/commenting on this blog post with a url.

--

--

barrysmyth
Data in the Time of the Coronavirus

Professor of Computer Science at University College Dublin. Focus on AI/ML and data science with applications in e-commerce, media, and health.