About Me

Kats Philipp
DADA science
Published in
2 min readDec 19, 2017
Graduation from Strelka, 2012

The views and opinions on this blog are my opinions and do not reflect the views of my current or former employers.

Hey there! My name is Philipp Kats. I am a data scientist and a recovering architect, trying to fulfill my interests in cities, buildings, and data. I grew up in Kazan, Russia. I usually explain my region as a Texas of Russia with lots of fields, cows, and oil pumps.

I’ve got my first degree in Architectural Design (2009, KSUAE). While studying, I’ve discovered digital and generative design, BIM, as well as 3d modeling and computer graphics, as my primary interests.

After a few years working at the architectural studios, learning to code, teaching to code, co-founding an architectural education project* and hosting a podcast, I started my post-graduate research at Strelka Institute, in a “Senseable city” group, lead by Carlo Rattti. This year of research shifted my interests, and in 2012, I started to work as a data analyst at Ria Novosti (Moscow) Department of Infographics. During 4 years I’ve spend there, my team and I received multiple international awards and mentions.

Being exposed to data analysis ramped up my appetite for in-depth Data Science, which, in it’s turn, made me to apply in 2016 to NYU CUSP. A year later, as a fresh MS I’ve joined StreetEasy Data Science team.

With such a mix of experiences, I love working with unconventional data sources, creating data-driven stories and visualisation, build pipelines, design convenient microservices. Also, hiking and painting.

--

--