Bioinformatics

What exactly is Bioinformatics?

Simply explained through cartoon visualization

--

Introduction

So you probably have heard of the term Bioinformatics before, but did not get the chance to learn more about what it is and what it can do.

In this article, I will be giving you a brief high-level overview of this exciting field of Bioinformatics. Thus, the article will be comprehensible to those coming from biology or computer backgrounds alike.

As a biologist, I have self-taught myself data science and coding (R and Python) after several years of persistence (initially quitting a couple of times the coding concept just kind of clicked at some point in time). Learn more about how I learned coding and my strategies for breaking into data science in Strategies for Learning Data Science.

Before proceeding further it is worthy to note that I’ve also released two introductory videos on Bioinformatics that serves as the basis for writing this article.

--

--

Chanin Nantasenamat
Data Professor

Data Professor on YouTube | Sr Developer Advocate | ex-Professor of Bioinformatics | Join https://data-professor.medium.com/membership