Mentally Preparing

Jordan
Data Science Exploration
1 min readJun 27, 2015

Well, I am making the big leap finally. Two big leaps I guess, if you’re actually counting. I recently rekindled my love of data and I am working on getting familiar with R and Python to work some data analysis and visualizations.

My love of data probably started in college. Being your typical engineering student, I did a lot of work with analyzing data. I actually volunteered to run the data analysis for my senior design team. Yes, I was the guy who spent hours setting up our Mathematica workbook. Tearing my hair out when things weren’t working while my teammates got to play around in the microscopy lab.

Anyway, I am looking at making a career change from engineering into an analytics role. As part of this I realized I need to up my proficiency with programming in R and Python, so here I am. I have signed up for the Data Scientist’s Toolbox on Coursera and plan on completing the whole progression. (Let’s hope the real job doesn’t get in the way.)

As far as the second big leap, I decided to document my process/progress on Medium. I challenged myself to write more this year and have failed pretty miserably so far. I still have half the year, right? But better late than never as they say.

So follow along if you like data, analytics or just watching someone trying to learn a new subject. Feel free to provide any advice or other resources I may enjoy.

--

--

Jordan
Data Science Exploration

Exploring and building my creative outlet. Follow me for weird ramblings and the occasional useful nugget.