160+ Data Science Interview Questions Answered

Josh Gonzales, PhD(c)
Data Science Interviews
9 min readMar 2, 2020

--

Trying to get a data science job?

Alexey Grigorev posted a list of over 160 data science interview questions on Hacker Noon. In his words:

A typical interview process for a data science position includes multiple rounds. Often, one of such rounds covers theoretical concepts, where the goal is to determine if the candidate knows the fundamentals of machine learning.

Over the next year I’m going to answer all of the questions to the best of my knowledge. And not simple one word answers. No, I’m going to deep dive into the theory to get a deep understanding — I want to know why these questions matter to data scientist teams and how the theory behind the question can be used most effectively.

Unquestionably, this project will sharpen my own data science knowledge. Following along could also potentially help you ace your next interview (although for optimal learning I suggest trying to answer the questions yourself before looking at my breakdowns).

I’ve re-listed the questions below and will include links to my posts answering each question as I get to them.

Alexey used emojis to denote which questions were easy, medium, and hard (according to his own mental representations of data science). However, I found his legend visually unintuitive…

--

--

Josh Gonzales, PhD(c)
Data Science Interviews

PhD Candidate @ University of Guelph studying representation in entertainment and goal-oriented decision-making