Field trip to ProPublica & NYU Data Service

Chian Huang
Data Visulization
Published in
1 min readOct 25, 2018

The trip to ProPublica

This trip I have a better understanding of how their organization work and be able to see more practical work. It was very interesting to hear how they clean their data, confirm the data’s validation and also understand how complex that process is. I was surprised that some project was done by one person within a short amount of time.

Overall, I think this is a great experience but I wish we will be able to hear from different people who they partner with and understand more of this career environment.

The trip to NYU Data Service

I found this is SUPER helpful according to their presentation talking about the foundation of data visualization. After that presentation, I feel like I finally have a deeper understanding of how data visualization should work.

Also, I am really thankful that they have so many documentations for different topics in data visualization.

Overall, the trip was worth it. I learned a lot!

--

--