Phase 1_Disease disparities

Chian Huang
Data Visulization
Published in
2 min readOct 2, 2018

According to last week’s experiment, I get to understand more of the software.

Rough visualizing using the dataset

This week, I continue to work on the same dataset, Disease Disparity but to close up to visualize the data. By analyzing the dataset, I decide to visualize the relationship of how each disease affects different races and genders. Interact with the data here.

Dataset: Disease Disparities

First, I visualize the total population that are affected by each disease.

Then, I pick the top five affected diseases and look into the population. To analyze what races and genders are being affected.

Then, I combine two graphs into one:

Finally, I pick the most affective graphs to tell the story. Click the link below to interactive with.

Conclusion:

The data visualization allows the audience to see what disease has the most impact on people. To be even more specific, which races and genders are the most affected. According to the graph, all possible cause is the dominate disease and among all the races, white male is the highest group to be affected.

--

--