Week 3

Chian Huang
Data Visulization
Published in
2 min readSep 27, 2018

For the phase 1 project, I want to use the dataset that is time and spatial domain. Also, the dataset will be interactive. Since the struggles of last week using Unity, I decided to go over some of the tools again so I can switch to a better alternative. For this week, I try using Tableau and the dataset of Disease Disparity.

Here are the results:

The graph above clearly shows the percentage of different race. Without looking at the column, I can easily identify which race has higher percentage in certain diseases.

Compare to the graph in the following, it is a little hard to read according to the tiny rings. Overall, I realize the texts of the row are hard to read. A lot of texts are repeating which affect the readability of the entire visualization.

The next step for the phase 1 project:

I am still working on the code and trying both in Processing and Javascript but it’s still not working. By next week, I should have it ready.

--

--