Product Management Tip: Fight The Ephemeral User!!

Bryan Lane
DATA XD
7 min readAug 4, 2018

--

It was a Wednesday and I found myself pulled into a meeting with a couple of our customer support folks and consultants representing one of our major accounts. The reason I remember it was a Wednesday was because this meeting fell smack dab in the middle of time I normally used to take care of some internal housekeeping — following up with engineers, talking through some of the workflows we were addressing, grooming the backlog a little bit, analyzing performance and user data. Things like that.

My Mondays were meeting hell that started with the team weekly sync, bizdev milestone update, ops milestone update, major deliveries and presales tech demo reviews, proposal reviews, cross-team coordination sync… basically everything but the kitchen sink.

Tuesdays were my team one-on-ones, which I very much enjoyed. These were generally spent providing lightweight business updates, real time feedback, and talking through workflows, which became a crucial part of our product strategy and roadmap.

--

--

Bryan Lane
DATA XD

AI Delivery @ FDIC. Data scientist, cage fighter, and basement beat maker. Sharing my veteran voice and tech XP. Former: AI & Data @ GSA, IBM, DoD.