DataBroker DAO: Weekly video 4— Meet Silke van den Broeck

mago.crypto
DataBrokerDAO
Published in
3 min readMar 14, 2018

After working with cutting edge web and mobile technologies in multiple Belgian startups, Silke decided to use her experience as a full-stack developer to help lift the DataBroker DAO tech to a higher level. Currently she’s working on the smart contracts on the back-end of the upcoming platform.

Watch the full video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvEGlQVcoRw

Here is a short transcript of the Q&A. In the video we also cover some upcoming updates, so make sure to watch the full video as well.

Introduction:
I’m Silke. I’m 27 years old. I’ve been mainly working with JavaScript for the last five years, so I have a lot of experiences as a full stack developer. Then, a year and a half ago, I started noticing Blockchain. At a certain point I met the team of Databroker DAO. I was super interested in the technology, and it clicked very well with the team. I fell in love with the concept and the whole thing, so that’s how I ended up here. I’ve been here for four or five months, and I’m really enjoying it.

Q: If Databroker DAO gave you a three-day paid vacation, what would you do with your three days?
A:
I think I would take the time to lock myself up in my home studio and then just write music because that’s actually what I spend most of my spare time on. I’m a singer, and I play music all the time. I also have a jazz group, so maybe also spend some time with the band.

Q: What topic could you spend hours talking about?
A:
Well, music for example, Blockchain probably second thing, but I think that’s obvious. Furthermore, things like the human psychology, or philosophy, I also love talking about that. I love meaningful conversations.

Q: What movie quotes do you use on a regular basis?
A:
Aside from the obvious ones? I mean, for example, I’m a big Austin Powers fan, so I sometimes say “Oh, behave”. Apart from that, my favourite one is probably one from The Lord of the Rings, “Not all those who wander are lost” . I’m big fantasy fan, so I read a lot of fantasy books. Tolkien was the first fantasy book I read, so it has a special place in my heart. For me, the quote means that you can try stuff in life and wander and just fail and try again and that doesn’t mean you’re lost, it’s just part of life. Just wandering, exploring, and having adventures, stuff like that.

Q: What goal do you think humanity is not focused enough on achieving?
A:
Working together and respecting each other and not judging too much is at the core of most of the problems in society. If we would just not judge that easily or, just respect someone who is different or that would solve a lot of problems.

Join our token sale: https://databrokerdao.com

Keep in touch and join our DataBroker DAO community on Telegram!

Any questions, opportunities or partnership requests are welcome on any of these channels:

--

--