30-Day Coding Challenge

Day 30 — I Met a Turtle!

Countdown to 100 Stories: ⏱️(4 stories to go)

Kester R.
DSV Logs!

--

Photo by Author Via Microsoft Designer & Canva

Last month, I started this coding challenge to improve my productivity when it comes to both coding and writing.

Fast forward to day 30 and I didn’t feel up to it today.

But that’s when it hit me to break the monotony and do something way more fun than I’ve done these previous days. And I started by introducing myself to Mr. Turtle!

The Turtle is a Python module that allows you to create graphics and drawings. It provides a virtual canvas where you can control what we call a turtle that moves around the screen, drawing as it goes.

But while I didn’t go far learning the module (since I didn’t see a need for it soon), I at least understood how to duplicate the pattern on the official documentation to make a whole new image.

The pattern on Python’s official Turtle documentation

Here’s my duplicate:

Image by Author from Python

And here’s my code:

Yeah, it’s pretty long. I spent more time on it than I realized.

The best part I love about this is the turtle’s movement when running on my IDE.

And above all, the feeling of having cracked the right distance needed to line them up side-by-side. I was amazed that I could figure out the distance between the last three patterns in one go.

And this is the beginning of my adventure with Mr. Turtle which I’ll continue embarking on during days like these when I don’t want to do any serious code. Yeah, go ahead and call it goofing off cause I really am 😊.

That said, it’ll probably take a while before I import the turtle in my script again since I really plan on focusing on modules related to data analytics.

There you have it, my day 30 report. But as you may know, this isn’t the end of my challenge. Here’s why:

By Author via Canva

I missed 4 days, meaning I actually did 26 days of coding due to some reason or another.

I’m sad and mad. I’m sad-mad.

But it goes on. As I mentioned on day 10, for each day I miss, I get an extra day added to my challenge. This means there are four more days of coding left.

And as I write this, only one of these four days has been completed. Three days left…

--

--

Kester R.
DSV Logs!

I'm a writer trying to do what he knows best - "hitting the keys on my keyboard"