30-Day Coding Challenge

Day 6 — Discovering Methods

Kester R.
DSV Logs!
Published in
1 min readJul 11, 2024

--

Photo by Author Via Microsoft Designer & Canva

There are tons of methods in Python and today reaffirmed that fact. Picking up where I left off yesterday, I hoped to discover and test new Python hacks.

But I ended up looking through some unfamiliar string methods.

One of which is the “isalpha” method.

That method checks if every character in a string is from the alphabet and returns TRUE. If even a single character is not a letter, it returns FALSE.

Now, the question that immediately popped into my head:

“When am I ever going to need such a functionality?”

Perhaps like me, you doubt every method or function you come across that you don’t see yourself using soon.

Is that part of the research process?

Anyway, like other methods, I’m happy to save it in my brain for future use.

Naturally, I also came across the “isdigit” method that checks to see if characters in a string are numbers or not.

Tomorrow marks one week into my challenge…

--

--

Kester R.
DSV Logs!

I'm a writer trying to do what he knows best - "hitting the keys on my keyboard"