Anomaly Detection in SAR imagery

Daniel Moraite
DataSeries

--

Synthetic Aperture Radar Satellite Imagery

“SAR is a form of radar that is used to create two-dimensional images or three-dimensional reconstructions of objects, such as landscapes. SAR uses the motion of the radar antenna over a target region to provide finer spatial resolution than conventional beam-scanning radars.” Wikipedia

Synthetic Aperture Radar can be quite a great tool since it is used to see through clouds, and does not depend on day or night.

My purpose for this test is to understand if satellite SAR imagery can obtain similar results as with optical images when it comes to detecting anomalies.

Conclusions

SAR through the looking glass

As you can see, more clearly in the farmland example, the anomaly(around what looks like a gas station-could be vehicles) has a higher score than the rest of the images.

In order to obtain the results above, I have been using: — Rasterio, Numpy, Keras, Matplotlib, Python.

--

--

Daniel Moraite
DataSeries

My passion for technology and previous roles inspired me to get closer to the practical side of things and I started studying data science and coding on my own.